Beauty Uncompetition

Who is the prettiest? Who has the nicest hair? Who is the best in the class?

Why must there be a prettiest, why can’t I be happy with just being pretty? I relate to my beauty as constantly changing depending on my make-up, my hair, my outfit and most importantly what the other girls in the room looks like. Somehow I was made to believe that there can only be one truly pretty person, and if you are not number one then you’re not pretty – or at least it can feel that way. But I do not relate to other things like there is only one beautiful dress in the room or one beautiful necklace.

I am tired of seeing beauty as a competition with one winner. I hate how I feel when I am the loser- feeling of being inadequate, incompetent, unlovable. The trade off is the powerful confidence and carefree attitude I experience when I am the winner. How do I stop losing myself just because another powerful / pretty / smart/ successful / popular girl walks in the room/ onto the television? How do I stop losing my confidence when I look in the mirror and see an imperfection? How can I always remember all the things that make me beautiful? So that on days when my makeup is not done or when I feel unappreciated for my work, I do not forget that I am worth loving, worth paying attention to, and worth investing in.

About isabelrasmussen

Three generations of women in my family raised me until first grade, amongst them I was taught how wonderful it was to be a girl. In my tween years I was confronted with many of the social challenges other girls face and my self confidence dwindled. I think it was going from being so proud of being a girl to struggling so much as a girl and reading of all the struggles that women faced that motivated me throughout my life. I received her undergraduate degree in Women’s Studies at UW and then worked in domestic violence and as a community organizer in San Francisco. At 26 I took the opportunity to live in Guatemala for a year and West Africa for a summer. I returned to the US and in 2008 obtained a Green MBA at Dominican University in San Rafael.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

